The Lord Is My Rock

I love thee, O Lord my strength
The Lord is my rock
And my fortress
And my deliverer
My God, my rock, in whom I take refuge
My shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold
I call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised
And I am saved from my enemies

The cords of death encompassed me
The torrents of perdition assailed me
The cords of Sheol entangled me
The snares of death confronted me

In my distress I called up on the Lord
To my God I cried for help
From his temple he heard my voice
And my cry to him reached his ears

Then the earth reeled and rocked
The foundations also of the mountains trembled
And quaked, because he was angry

Smoke went up from his nostrils
And devouring fire from his mouth
Glowing coals flamed form from him

He bowed the heavens, and came down
Thick darkness was under his feet
He rode on a cherub, and flew
He came swiftly upon the wings of the wind
He made darkness his covering around him
His canopy thick clouds dark with water

Out of the brightness before him
There broke through his clouds
Hailstones and coals of fire

The Lord also thundered in the heavens
And the Most High uttered his voice
Hailstones and coals of fire

And he sent out his arrows, and scattered them
He flashed forth lightnings, and routed them

Then the channels of the sea were seen
And the foundations of the world were laid bare
At thy rebuke, O Lord
At the blast of the breath of thy nostrils

He reached from on high, he took me
He drew me out of many waters
He delivered me from my strong enemy
And from those who hated me
For they were too mighty for me
They came upon me in the day of my calamity
But the Lord was my stay
He brought me forth into a broad place
He delivered me, because he delighted in me

Psalms 18

Leave a Reply

